Support the Mission


Your membership donation supports our mission of bringing a human perspective to world events. Become a member today.


Featured Events

Jan 31, Palo Alto,
Festival of Cultures &
Annual General Meeting


Join us for our biggest event of the year. Returned Peace Corps Volunteers from around Northern California will team up with the Ohlone Elementary School Global Awareness team to celebrate, learn and share experiences from over 100 countries at our Annual Festival of Cultures. We need volunteers for country presenations, international fashion show, cook international foods, organize cross culutral activities for kids and general volunteer help. Volunteer to Help>>

June 5-6, Peace Corps Connect
Registration is Open!


The National Peace Corps Association and the Northern California Peace Corps Association are pleased to announce that Peace Corps Connect will take place in Berkeley, Calif. on June 5-6, 2015. We look forward to a weekend of engaging speakers, dynamic workshops and opportunities for participants to network and share their Peace Corps stories! Details>>

« Back to Event Calendar

African Visas BR & Ethopian

10/15/13 Tue (7:00 PM - 8:00 PM)
Cafe Romanat
462 Santa Clara Avenue, Oakland
Contact:Jayma Brown (jaymaghana@earthlink.net)


Join us for an informal book discussion of African Visas by Maria Thomas and to eat some great Ethiopian food at Cafe Romanat near the Grand Lake theater in Oakland. As usually everyone is encouraged to come, whether you have read the book or not, want to find out what others thought of it, or want to hang out with some fellow RPCVs or become an RPCV. Please RSVP to jaymaghana@earthlink.net, so I can make reservations at the restaurant and know how many to expect.

Here is a bit about the book: In the tradition of Dinesen and Markham, Thomas writes about adventurous women in Africa, Ethiopia in particular. "Jiru Road," the novella in this collection, is a first-person account of Sarah's life in the Peace Corps. Sarah, or Shoulders as she comes to be called, is a young woman who wants "to avoid conscription into American life." Instead, she helps build a road to nowhere in the Horn of Africa, a road that helps the people of her village stave off hunger for a while longer. Thomas has an ear for dialog and a facility for capturing that sense of living between two worlds: life in a small African village, and life back in the United States. The stories also capture the wonderful feeling of Africa: the beauty--the villages with their conical roofs, the men with their lovely almond eyes--along with the horror: lepers and mangy dogs, and a continent on the verge of starvation. This book is being published posthumously; Thomas died on a relief mission to Ethiopia in 1988.

And a review of the restaurant: “One of the best Ethiopian restaurants in the Bay area. And they have gluten free injara! (the sourdough tortilla- like bread you eat with)”